2017 Women in Sustainability Leadership Award

2017 Women in Sustainability Awards Past Winners



  • Lisa Bate, Regional Managing Principal (North America), B+H Architects
  • Liz York, Associate Director for Quality and Chief Sustainability Officer, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Mary Tod Winchester, Vice President Administration/Operations, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
  • Kelly Vlahakis-Hanks, President and CEO, Earth Friendly Products (ECOS brand)
  • Nicole Isle, Chief Sustainability Strategist, Glumac
  • Holley Henderson, LEED Fellow, Green Building Expert, Author, Consultant and Speaker, H2 Ecodesign
  • Susan King, Principal, Studio Leader: Housing and Education, National Sustainable Practice Leader, Harley Ellis Devereaux
  • Carolyn Aguilar Dubose, Director, Department of Architecture, Iberoamericana University (Mexico City, Mexico)
  • Kathleen Smith, Vice President, Living Building Challenge, International Living Future Institute
  • Barbara Deutsch, FASLA, Executive Director, Landscape Architecture Foundation
  • Nancy Sutley, Chief Sustainability and Economic Development Officer, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
  • Karen Kubick, Director of the Wastewater Enterprise Capital Improvement Program, City and County of San Francisco’s Public Utilities Commission
  • Barbra Batshalom, Founder and CEO, Sustainable Performance Institute (SPI)
  • Andrea Goertz, Chief Communications and Sustainability Officer, TELUS
  • Dominique Hargreaves, Executive Director, USGBC-Los Angeles 


  • Lori Duvall, Director of Global Impact, eBay
  • Arlene D. Blum, Founder and Executive Director, Green Science Policy Institute
  • Erla Dögg Ingjaldsdóttir, CEO/Inventor, mnmMOD Building Solutions
  • Hilary Beber Firestone, Senior Project Manager/Advisor, Energy Efficiency, Los Angeles Mayor’s Office of Sustainability
  • Deborah Marton, Executive Director New York Restoration Project
  • Alicia Silva, General Director and Founder, Revitaliza Consultores
  • Dawn Rittenhouse, Director of Sustainable Development, DuPont Company
  • Heather White, Executive Director, Environmental Working Group (EWG)
  • Robin Chase, Founder, ZipCar, Buzzcar, Veniam
  • Mary Wenzel, Head of Environmental Affairs, Wells Fargo
  • Jane Palmieri, Business President, Dow Building & Construction
  • Kira Gould, Director of Communications, William McDonough + Partners
  • Angela Foster-Rice, Managing Director of Environmental Affairs, United Airlines
  • Stacy Glass, President, Built Environment, Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute
  • Michelle Moore, CEO, Groundswell; Fulya Kocak, Director of Sustainability, Clark Construction Group
  • Dagmar B. Epsten, President & CEO, The Epsten Group, Inc.; Amy Francetic, CEO, Clean Energy Trust (CET)
  • Lisa Colicchio, Director of Corporate Responsibility, CBRE
  • Katrin Klingenberg, Executive Director, Passive House Institute US (PHIUS)


  • Hillary Clinton, former US Secretary of State and First Lady
  • Rochelle Routman, Director of Sustainability, Mohawk Group
  • Beth Heider, Chief Sustainability Officer, Skanska
  • Cindy Ortega, Chief Sustainability Officer, MGM Resorts International
  • Amanda Sturgeon, Executive Director, International Living Future Institute
  • Arielle Bertman, Principal of Energy and Sustainability, Google
  • Bea Perez, Chief Sustainability Officer, Coca-Cola
  • Daniele Horton, Founder and Principal, Verdani Partners
  • Robyn Beavers, Senior Vice President of Innovation, NRG Energy
  • Leisha John, Americas Director of Environmental Sustainability, Ernst & Young 


  • Lisa Matthiessen, Principal, Integral Group
  • Jeanne Gang, Founding Principal, Studio Gang
  • Lynn Jurich, Founder and CEO, Sunrun
  • Anisa Baldwin Metzger, School District Sustainability Manager, USGBC
  • Angela Nahikian, Director of Global Environmental Sustainability, Steelcase
  • Kathrin Winkler, Senior Vice President and Chief Sustainability Officer, EMC
  • Sarah Elizabeth Ippel, Founder, Academy for Global Citizenship
  • Hannah Jones, Chief Sustainability Officer and Vice President of Innovation Accelerator, Nike
  • Maya Lin, Founding Principal, Maya Lin Studio
  • Michele Whyle, Global Head of Sustainability and Quality, 3M
  • Kim Marotta, Director of Sustainability, MillerCoors



WSLA Apply Now