To celebrate our second-annual Women in Sustainability Leadership Awards, we gathered nearly all 20 of this year’s winners and members of our esteemed alumni group for an inspiring celebration in Washington D.C. Based all across the globe and coming from a plethora of backgrounds, this year’s diverse group of winners were able to finally meet one another and mingle over cocktails, dinner, and an awards ceremony held during this year’s Greenbuild International Conference and Expo. The WSLA strives to identify, support, and give opportunities to future women in leadership, and we can’t wait to see what comes of our now 30-women-deep alumni group as we continue this initiative!

Hand selected by a judging panel that includes Rochelle Routman of Mohawk Industries (and the chair of the WSLA Alumni Group), Kimberly Lewis of the USBGC, Charmaine Atherton of Bank of American Merrill Lynch, and Chris Howe and Laura Heidenreich of Green Building & Design this year’s winners include Lori Duvall, Director of Global Impact, eBay; Arlene D. Blum, Founder and Executive Director, Green Science Policy Institute; Erla Dögg Ingjaldsdóttir, CEO/Inventor, mnmMOD Building Solutions; Hilary Beber Firestone, Senior Project Manager/Advisor, Energy Efficiency, Los Angeles Mayor’s Office of Sustainability; Deborah Marton, Executive Director New York Restoration Project; Alicia Silva, General Director and Founder, Revitaliza Consultores; Dawn Rittenhouse, Director of Sustainable Development, DuPont Company; Heather White, Executive Director, Environmental Working Group (EWG); Robin Chase, Founder, ZipCar, Buzzcar, Veniam; Mary Wenzel, Head of Environmental Affairs, Wells Fargo; Jane Palmieri, Business President, Dow Building & Construction; Kira Gould, Director of Communications, William McDonough + Partners; Angela Foster-Rice, Managing Director of Environmental Affairs, United Airlines; Stacy Glass, President, Built Environment, Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute; Michelle Moore, CEO, Groundswell; Fulya Kocak, Director of Sustainability, Clark Construction Group; Dagmar B. Epsten, President & CEO, The Epsten Group, Inc.; Amy Francetic, CEO, Clean Energy Trust (CET); Lisa Colicchio, Director of Corporate Responsibility, CBRE; and Katrin Klingenberg, Executive Director, Passive House Institute US (PHIUS). The evening was presented by Mohawk Industries in partnership with the United States Green Building Council in part by Ernst and Young, DuPont, United Airlines, and Steelcase.